Hello all!

Fall isn’t far away, but we have a few more weeks of summer still to enjoy. This month’s newsletter is full of articles, resources, and more, including an update on our #IndieBookshopHaul contest.

Let’s get into it, shall we?

 

Thanks to all the bookstores, publishers, not-for-profit organizations, and readers who helped boost the signal on our #IndieBookshopHaul contest. Since we launched, entries have been rolling in from readers across the country. Keep an eye on our Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook feeds as we share some of our favourite submissions.

We will continue to post shareable campaign content throughout August. A few important reminders:

  • To enter the contest, readers must include the hashtag #IndieBookshopHaul in their post
  • Every unique post = one entry
  • The deadline to enter is Monday, September 5 at 11:59pm PT

Members can access campaign materials to promote the contest in the Member Portal, including sample social posts and graphics. The prize an indie bookseller-curated prize pack worth $250. Once the contest has closed, the CIBA team will randomly select one winner and reach out to their preferred bookstore for participation.

If you have questions about the contest, you can check out our FAQ here or email us. We’re happy to help!

Last week, CIBA sent Bookseller Members an update on the Department of Canadian Heritage (DCH)’s new Support for Booksellers program, including more information about the disbursement of anticipated funds.

If you applied on behalf of your store, you may be thinking now about how you can spend the funds and meet program obligations.

Never fear – CIBA has your back! According to the program guidelines, activities and expenses that are eligible for funding include:

  • The establishment or improvement of technological or logistical tools directly related to the sale of print books online
  • Promotion and marketing of Canadian-authored books for online sale
  • Costs arising from the management and shipping of orders (labour, shipping/postal costs, storage, etc.)

Right now, you can visit the Business Resources section of the CIBA Member Portal for relevant resources to help you create your plan. Click “Support for Booksellers Grant – CIBA Resources” at the bottom of the table of contents.

Questions? Get in touch!

Not a member? Join today to access a wide range of business resources.

Booksellers: If your business has accepted Visa and/or Mastercard as payment at any point since March 23, 2001, you could be eligible to receive a portion of a multi-million-dollar settlement in a class action lawsuit.

Visa, Mastercard, and the banks have settled on a lawsuit for restricting merchants’ ability to surcharge or refuse higher-cost (“premium”) credit cards. In a recent webinar hosted by the Canadian Federation of Independent Business, lawyers from this Class Action Lawsuit discussed small business eligibility to receive settlement money and the upcoming option to pass on your credit card fees to your clients through surcharging. 

Access the webinar recording here.

“For anyone under $5 million, it is simple to apply and does not require much documentation. My accounts person filled out the form in just a few minutes. And CFIB is willing to help any booksellers who have issues.” – Cathy Jesson, owner of Black Bond Books

Click here to apply for the settlement rebate. 

The deadline to apply is September 30, 2022.


Ask Us ANYTHING! – CIBA Summer Mentor Series (Session 3)

Tuesday, August 16 – TODAY!

12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET, 4pm AT, 4:30pm NFLD


Need help with your table displays? Want some reassurance about your ordering process? Can’t decide how to staff your store for the holidays? Need some guidance on stocking a specialty section?


Susan Chamberlain, owner of The Book Keeper and bookseller mentor, is here to help! There will be no formal presentation at this event – simply log on and ask Susan all your burning questions.

 

Using Consumer Insight Information to Do Better Business This Fall 

Thursday, August 18

4pm PT, 5pm MT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET, 8pm AT, 8:30pm NFLD

 

Join Mary Giuliano, Senior Director, Independent Sales at Penguin Random House Canada (PRHC), for ways to prepare for another fall season sure to be filled with challenges and opportunities. Mary will share how PRHC is working behind the scenes to deliver relevant, timely, and consistent information on inventory stock ups and why they are investing in this space as a critical support piece for the long-term success of Canadian indies.

 

This session is only open to CIBA Bookseller Members.

 

Ask the Bookseller: Planning for a Successful Holiday Season

Tuesday, August 23

4pm PT, 5pm MT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET, 8pm AT, 8:30pm NFLD

 

Don’t blink: fall is just around the corner! How do your holiday preparations compare to other indies around the country? How do stores determine how much stock to order? What workarounds are happening to offset supply chain issues? When should you ensure your website is holiday-ready?

 

In this session, learn how our bookseller panelists navigate the season to maximize business success.

 

Webinar: Taking Advantage of CFIB Savings Programs & Business Advisors

Thursday, August 25

10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET, 2pm AT, 2:30pm NFLD


As a CIBA Bookseller Member and a new or existing member of the Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB) there are many advantages available to you – including a host of time- and cost-saving benefits that are yours for the taking!

In this webinar you will learn about:

  • Resources available to you and your employees via CFIB, including one-on-one advice and online education
  • Significant savings and benefits for services that your business needs
  • CFIB’s wide range of additional programs and offerings

This interactive session will be hosted by CFIB.


Mythbusting with BookNet Canada: Forthcoming Canadian-Authored Books Are Easy to Find!

Tuesday, September 13

9am PT, 10am MT, 11am CT, 12pm ET, 1pm AT, 1:30pm NFLD

 

This session will show you how to use your free access to BookNet Canada's CataList service to search for forthcoming titles by Canadian authors. We’ll show you the power of cross-publisher search tools to locate Canadian-authored titles by subject, publisher, or format, how to set up saved searches to keep on top of new additions over time, and how these tools can be used when searching across the backlist title set. For books already in the market, you’ll learn how to check stock availability on the titles you want right in the CataList system.


CIBA Publisher Picks – Fall Edition

Tuesday, September 20 (Multinational Publishers)

Tuesday, September 27 (Canadian Independent Publishers)

3:30pm PT, 4:30pm MT, 5:30pm CT, 6:30pm ET, 7:30pm AT, 8:00pm NFLD

 

CIBA's Publisher Picks series is back with its fall edition. We will bring you to the heart of publisher marketing discussions to discover the season's best bets – the books you might not know you need to stock but will definitely be glad you have on hand this fall. Publishers will present highlights only, in a speed-dating format. We encourage bookstore owners, managers, and staff to attend.

As it becomes increasingly challenging to keep up with the modern world, more readers are turning to the meditative power of poetry. To support indie booksellers who wish to expand their poetry offering in-store, we asked Alayna Munce from Brick Books to share some insights and recommendations.

While it’s true some poetry can challenge, much of it speaks to the human heart and experiences a reader might not have words for themselves. A bookseller can approach it this way, reading the description, dipping into a few pages, and feeling their way into what the poems are offering.”

Read the interview now on our member blog.

Not a CIBA member? Join today to access a range of benefits including exclusive content on the member blog.

The Yellowknife Book Cellar has been serving readers throughout the North for more than 40 years. We spoke to Jennifer Baerg Steyn, who took over ownership this year, about the store’s history and the bright future ahead.

“I feel like Indie bookstores are the heart of every community they exist in... One of our unique responsibilities and honours is to showcase the works of our local authors and support the growth of writing in the North.”

Read the article here.

BookNet Canada continues to provide helpful research and resources related to the Canadian book industry. Right now, you can:

Our monthly micro survey allows the membership to weigh in on questions from the CIBA team. Your participation helps us develop our programs and services.

This month, we’re seeking intel about in-store displays – and the booksellers who create them – for an upcoming newsletter story. If your answer to the question below is yes, we want to chat with you!

BOOKSELLERS:

Do you have a staff member who creates amazing table displays?

Yes, I do!
 
 
 

This message was sent to you by the Canadian Independent Booksellers Association

If you no longer wish to receive these emails, you can unsubscribe at any time

188 Dublin Street North, Guelph, ON N1H 4P2 

{Organization_URL}